SEDE Factsheet

Fact Sheet

The Committee on Security and Defence

Common Security and Defence Policy (CSDP): The legal framework for the common foreign and security policy of the EU. The political and military structures of the EU are governed by this policy, including military and civilian missions and operations abroad.

Directorate-General for Communications Networks, Content and Technology (DG Connect): The Directorate-General of the European Commission responsible for the digital single market. It also takes part in the preparation of foreign affairs and security policy, particularly in topics regarding cybersecurity and data protection.

Digital Education Action Plan: The European Commission’s vision for high-quality, inclusive and accessible digital education in Europe, designed to raise education to the demands of the post-COVID-19 world and the digital age more broadly.

European Border and Coast Guard Agency (Frontex): The border agency of the EU, tasked with upholding freedom and security at the external borders of the Union.

European External Action Service (EEAS): The EU agency responsible for diplomatic and foreign affairs and military operations.

European Democracy Action Plan: A strategy of the European Commission, aiming at empowering citizens and improving the resilience of democracies by promoting free and fair elections, strengthening media freedom and countering disinformation.

EU Security Union Strategy: The European Commission’s strategy for security at the EU level in the complex security environment. Its main pillars are the protection of critical infrastructure and public spaces; tackling evolving threats such as cybercrime; protecting Europeans from terrorism and organised crime; and building a strong security ecosystem in Europe.

European Union Agency for Cybersecurity (ENISA): The EU agency responsible for coordinating cybersecurity affairs and policies in Member States, conducting research and offering services in the field of ICT and cybersecurity.

European Union Agency for Law Enforcement Cooperation (Europol): The EU agency responsible for supporting Member States in preventing and combating all forms of serious international and organised crime, cybercrime and terrorism.

General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR): It is a regulation in EU law on data protection and privacy in the European Union (EU) and the European Economic Area (EEA). Its primary aim is to give individuals control over their personal data and to simplify the regulatory environment for international businesses by unifying the regulation within the EU.

Horizon Europe: The key research and innovation funding programme of the EU.

Permanent Structured Cooperation (PESCO): A framework for deepening the defence cooperation of Member States who are capable and willing to do so. It includes investment, planning and collaboration of defence resources across various domains.

Third countries: Countries that are not Member States of the EU.